Finally talking

An area for new members to introduce themselves, as well as a place where all members can share concerns, questions or general posts.
Everyone is welcome here.

Moderators: Harmony, quixote, Jonesy

Acacia

Finally talking

Post by Acacia »

Hi
I am new to Isurvive and I wish I had sought help earlier.
I was 11 when I was kidnapped and abused by a man who was dating my Aunty. It has taken me 31 years to open up to a psychologist through my works eap program and she suggested I talk online which led me to isurvive.

31 years keeping a secret has really paid a toll on my life. Especially my love life. Or lack thereof.

My hope is to find someone or many someone’s I can connect with. I have a 3yo and I want to make sure I am the best mother I can be.

Can I ask has anyone gone this long before talking and did u tell your family? I am really struggling, I kind of want to tell my mum but I don’t want her to feel bad or take responsibility.

Hope everyone had a good day.

From acacia, (location removed).
Last edited by Jonesy on Thu Jul 09, 2020 11:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Changed MT to NT, as no triggering content, and removed location to help protect your anonymity
Acacia
Jonesy
Director
Director

Re: Finally talking

Post by Jonesy »

Hi Acacia

A warm welcome to isurvive. It's not uncommon for survivors to wait an incredibly long time before opening up about their past and we each take a different path. Hopefully writing here will help you sort out the direction that's best for you.
You are important

Email: jonesy@isurvive.org
Acacia

Post by Acacia »

Thanks Jonesy
Last edited by Serenity on Fri Jul 10, 2020 10:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Changed MT to NT as no triggering detail included
Acacia
coconuts

Post by coconuts »

Welcome and sorry for the reasons.