Is this normal?

Discussion area for adult survivors who are afraid they might hurt others physically, sexually, emotionally, and/or verbally. Also an area for those who have harmed someone physically, sexually, emotionally, and/or verbally and want to heal. Sexual addiction can also be discussed.

Moderators: Harmony, Aspen, ajei

free4me84

Is this normal?

Post by free4me84 »

Hello out there, this is my first time on here but I really need some feedback. I had a severe trigger reaction the other day and I've been kind of lost and confused since then and just wanted some advice/validation on how it made me feel.

I'll begin by giving you my back story and telling you about myself. I'm a 30 year old female who is a survivor of incest/sexual abuse. My stepfather (father of my brother and sister) abused me sexually from the age of 5 until I was 10 when he also abused 2 (Known) of my friends and one of them reported him. He kept me quiet by telling me he would kill my mom or my siblings if I told and he killed all of our pets growing up (but we didn't know it was him until later in life). So he went to jail for 7 years and was released before I graduated high school. He moved 3 miles away from our home. There is a no contact order between us so he's not allowed to come within a set distance of me but him being My siblings father he is still in my life even if I don't see him.