Eventually have to deal with it

An area for new members to introduce themselves, as well as a place where all members can share concerns, questions or general posts.
Everyone is welcome here.

Moderators: Harmony, quixote, Jonesy

Pastina

Eventually have to deal with it

Post by Pastina »

Hi. My name is Pastina and I'm new to isurvive. I'm a survivor of a few sexual abuse incidents and child neglect, which made me feel my entire life that I should not exoect help from anyone. However, for the sake of my 9-year old twins who may have recently been exposed to sexual abuse, I must now confront my own ghosts.

I've heard from various therapists that my child abuse experiences may affect the way I respond to my children's, making it difficult for them to confide in me. I've also been told by my husband and a few therapists, that I may over-react to my children's possible sexual abuse. Though they believe, too, that at least one of them was sexually abused, they don't seem to be as upset about it and I am.

I never acknowledged my own abuse until my daughter starting acting out her own. Then, I thought that I acknowledged it as "water under the bridge." However, if my reaction in reality is actually hindering my children's recovery, I know that I need help. Though, I don't like to ask for any help, I ask for their sake.

I know get Jonesy recommended that I go on this forum to just say hello, but I just couldn't go about it that way. I know that I'm a result oriented kind of person and just sticking to a informal/nontransparent intro would take more time than I can deal with right now.

I hope someone understands. I'm actually terrified to even go down this road because I don't know what I'm going to discover. It's like jumping into a black lake, not knowing what's under the water. All that l'm sure of is that I'm going in the right direction.